Day 20 and Beyond

image

Top Photos: These justify turning on my “selfie” mode.😍 Coping up with hair loss is a test of courage and optimism especially in women. Below Photo: Waiting for my Medical Oncologist outside of the Outpatient Oncology Section of St. Luke’s Medical Center Global City. Inside this room, I saw people of varying ages battling different types of cancer.

Today is Day 20 post chemo.  I guess Dr. Efren Domingo did a good job in preparing me on this day when I will totally lose my hair.  True enough, I have started to feel my hair falling out slowly on my fingers since Sunday night (Day 13) until yesterday when I’ve finally decided to chop everything off since I couldn’t comb my hair anymore because it falls out with the comb.  I had been a bit uneasy and uncomfortable the past days seeing hair strands on my pillow in the morning and having a hard time taking a bath and keeping the washroom clean without hair strands on the floor and at times on the wall.  Indeed, coping up with hair loss is quite difficult and fearsome but I think I have done a fairly good job in controlling its psychological impact on me.  Going to work this week has helped me a lot in diverting my attention and sharing good laughter with my colleagues at work has helped me feel the comfort of living a normal life despite of these chemo side effects that have been creeping inside me from time to time.  I have to thank my sister for helping me in getting rid of my hair totally and for encouraging me to face this fear of seeing myself bald at the mirror and eventually be comfortable in wearing my naked head.

Moving forward, I have finally met my Medical Oncologist Dr. Gerardo Cornelio in the Outpatient Oncology Section of St. Luke’s Medical Center Global City.  A medical oncologist specializes in treating cancer with chemotherapy or other medications.  He has explained to me that my next treatment will be the R-CHOP Regimen.  This another concuction will help lymphoma with a B-cell origin significantly with the addition of the monoclonical antibody Rituximab.  He said that I can possibly have fever and chills during chemotherapy because of the Rituximab but he has also decreased the dosage of CHOP. Lastly, I will undergo a series of tests such as PET-CT Scan, 2DEcho/ECG, CBC, BUN, Creatinine, LDH, Uric Acid, Na, K, ALT, AST before my second chemotherapy.

🌼🌼🌼

One thought on “Day 20 and Beyond

Leave a comment